Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports

The 2024 ICC Men's T20 World Cup is the ninth edition of the most prestigious international Twenty20 cricket competition and to date six different countries have lifted the trophy.

The titles have been shared around the major cricketing nations with England and the West Indies being the only teams to win more than once each.

The West Indies are co-hosting this year's tournament with the United States but India are favourites to win for the first time since the inaugural event in 2007.

India are 11/4 to win the tournament with England and Australia at 4/1 and South Africa, who are yet to win this trophy, at 7/1, just ahead of Pakistan and New Zealand who are both 8/1.

The tournament starts on Saturday 1st June when co-hosts the United States play Canada in Dallas.

Let's look back at the previous World T20 winners.

T20 World Cup

India (2007)

India will be looking to end a 17-year wait for their second global T20 success after winning the first edition of the tournament in 2007. They emerged from their three-team group thanks to winning a bowl-out against Pakistan following a tie, and went on to meet their rivals again in the final.

India set a target of 157 thanks to 75 from opener Gautam Gambhir and while captain MS Dhoni could manage only six runs, a brisk 30 off 16 balls from Rohit Sharma proved invaluable in a five-run success at the Wanderers Stadium in Johannesburg, South Africa.

Pakistan (2009)

Pakistan did not have to wait long to atone for their defeat in the first final as they triumphed in the 2009 final at Lord's.

Australia made a shock exit at the group-stage while champions India lost all three of their games in the Super 8 round as hosts England also departed. 

That left Pakistan to face Sri Lanka in the final and this time they got home batting second. Shahid Afridi led the way with an unbeaten 54 as Younis Khan's team triumphed.

England (2010, 2022)

England won the first of their titles in 2010 despite not winning either of their group games, qualifying on run-rate after a loss to hosts West Indies and a no-result against Ireland. 

Paul Collingwood's team had found their form by the time they faced old enemies Australia in the final, though, and Craig Kieswetter's 63 helped them to a seven-wicket victory in Barbados.

England became the second two-time champions in the most recent tournament in 2022, when they beat Pakistan at the Melbourne Cricket Ground. After a phenomenal 10-wicket win over India in the semi-finals, England won the final by five wickets with an unbeaten 52 from Ben Stokes.

West Indies (2012, 2016)

The West Indies' two wins came within the space of three tournaments in the 2010s. Their first success in 2012 saw them bowl out hosts Sri Lanka for 101 in the final in Colombo with spinner Sunil Narine taking three wickets for nine runs.

Four years later, the Windies became the tournament's first multiple winners as they beat England in the final. 

Hosts India had set the Caribbean nation a tough target of 192 to beat in their semi-final, but an unbeaten 82 from Lendl Simmons gave them a seven-wicket win, while in the final Marlon Samuels was the star with 85 not out in a four-wicket success in Kolkata.

Sri Lanka (2014)

Sri Lanka revolutionised the one-day game with their big-hitting approach but their only T20 success came in 2014 in a tournament hosted by Bangladesh. 

They faced India in the final when Virat Kohli did his best to give his side the trophy with 77 runs in India's total of 130 for four, but Sri Lanka were steered home by Kumar Sangakkara's unbeaten 52 as the island nation won their first title by six wickets in Dhaka.

Australia (2021)

One of the biggest surprises of T20 World Cup history is that Australia have won only once - and that it took them seven attempts to achieve it. 

Having lost their only previous final in 2010, the Aussies finally got their name on the honours board in the delayed 2021 tournament, which was held in the UAE.

Both teams were seeking a first success when they clashed in Dubai and New Zealand set a solid target of 172 thanks to Kane Williamson's 85. However, Mitch Marsh blasted an unbeaten 77 off 50 balls to end Australia's T20 trophy drought.

List of T20 World Cup Winners










West Indies


Sri Lanka


West Indies





Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet £10 & Get £30 in Free Bets Join Now

Min deposit requirement. Free Bets are paid as Bet Credits and are available for use upon settlement of qualifying bets. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply.