Skip to content
en-gb GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. Cricket
  2. International Cricket

T20 World Cup Outright Odds: India favourites for second title

We take a look at the 2024 T20 World Cup outright odds to see how the top nations are shaping up ahead of this year's tournament.

T20 World Cup 2024 Outright Odds


England sealed their second T20 World Cup title 12 years after their first as Ben Stokes fired an unbeaten 52 to help chase down 138 to defeat Pakistan in Melbourne in November 2022.

England beat New Zealand in the final of the 50-over World Cup in 2019 before falling to the same rivals in the semi-finals of this competition in 2021 but, with Jos Buttler taking over as captain from the retired Eoin Morgan, they would make no mistake the following year.

Opener Buttler is part of a powerhouse batting line-up that also includes Harry Brook and one of the world's highest-ranked T20I batsmen in Dawid Malan.

Adil Rashid is one of the most canny white-ball spinners in the game, while all-rounder Sam Curran was named player of the tournament at the 2022 T20 World Cup.


Helped by the success of the IPL, India are blessed with a plethora of white-ball talent but that hasn't translated to short-format success in recent tournaments as they have been winless since lifting the inaugural T20 World Cup in 2007.

Seven subsequent tournaments have brought just one final appearance, which resulted in a tame defeat to Sri Lanka in 2012, and it's hard to argue that this cricketing powerhouse hasn't underachieved on the world stage.

India's batting order is a who's who of T20 stars but there is uncertainty over what their best team is and star names like Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli, who top scored at the 2022 T20 World Cup, have been kept out of the side to allow the selectors to assess future options.


The unpredictable nature of T20 cricket is perhaps best illustrated by the fact that it took Australia seven attempts to win the World Cup, eventually getting over the line in the delayed 2021 tournament which took place in the UAE and Oman.

Australia fell short in defence of their title, failing to get out of the group stage by virtue of having an inferior net run rate to both New Zealand and England, but there's no doubt they'll be out for revenge in 2024.

However, while the Aussies still possess quality in all areas, former skipper Aaron Finch has retired and David Warner will follow suit after this tournament.

All-rounder Mitchell Marsh has taken over as captain, but new blood could be needed to freshen up a vastly experienced team.


Pakistan have visited the T20 World Cup final on three occasions, winning once, and there is no doubt they have the talent to contend once again after they ran England close in the 2022 final.

Captain Babar Azam is one of the best batsmen in the world, Mohammad Rizwan sits near the top of the ICC batting rankings, and bowlers Haris Rauf and Shaheen Afridi have the ability to strike fear into opposing batting line-ups.

Pakistan have also unearthed a high-quality all-rounder in Shadab Khan and will expect to make their presence felt in the West Indies and USA.

New Zealand

In their role as perennial white-ball bridesmaids, New Zealand fell at the final hurdle in the 50-over World Cup in 2015, and then again in dramatic circumstances against England in 2019 and they've continually gone close in the T20 sphere without winning.

The Black Caps were outgunned by England in the semi-finals in 2016, lost in the 2021 final to Australia, then found Pakistan too strong at the last-four stage in 2022.

Kane Williamson stepped down as Test captain in 2022, but has continued as limited-overs skipper. He is a tactically astute leader who heads an experienced unit who will again be hoping to end their long wait for a World Cup title.

South Africa

Like New Zealand, South Africa's wait for a World Cup continues but unlike the Black Caps, they've rarely come close in this competition, exiting at the group stage in 2016, 2021 and 2022.

While they managed to beat India in 2022, the Proteas then found themselves outclassed by Pakistan and their fate was sealed with a shock 13-run loss to Netherlands. 

South Africa can't be written off and opener Quinton de Kock and fast bowler Kagiso Rabada remain high class, but they lack the sparkle and depth of their main rivals.

West Indies

It would, of course, be foolish to gloss over the chances of the West Indies, the co-hosts and the joint-most successful team in the history of the T20 World Cup with two previous wins.

The Windies remain enigmatic and there are no guarantees that all of their star names, many of whom are busy plying their trade in franchise cricket, will be available for selection.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet £10 & Get £30 in Free Bets

Join Now

Min deposit requirement. Free Bets are paid as Bet Credits and are available for use upon settlement of qualifying bets. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply.