Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
Championship League Snooker
  1. Snooker

Championship League: Start date, schedule, how to watch & odds

The Championship League will return for what is likely to be an invitation event in the run up to Christmas.

Shaun Murphy won the ranking guise of the tournament in June and the Magician became a three-time winner of the short-format snooker event when lifting the crown in Leicester.

WhatChampionship League Snooker
How to watchbet365's Sports Live Streaming 

Championship League dates

The Championship League is an event that has floated around the snooker calendar and may well find a new home next year. 

Most recently, the round-robin tournament ran from December 2022 to March 2023 and then from June 2023 to July 2023. 

It has primarily been used as a way to fill any prolonged gaps between tournaments and it has been held on multiple occasions in the same year in more recent times. 

The cancellation of the Chinese snooker events, and many other tournaments around the world, left the calendar a little bare and the Championship League was deployed to fill the gaps. 

It’s possible that the invitation guise of the event will return in December 2023, but no solid details are yet to emerge.

Championship League locations

The 2023 Championship League events were held at the Morningside Arena in Leicester, which also hosted the ranking event in both 2021 and 2022.

Stadium MK in Milton Keynes and the Coventry Building Society Arena have previously played host to the Championship League, but for many snooker fans its original venue of Crondon Park Golf Club in Essex will always be the home for the competition.

Championship League How To Watch

Matches are again expected be shown live on bet365's Sports Live Streaming platform, while the tournament has previously been broadcast on Viaplay Sports.

Championship League format

In stage one of the Championship League, the 128 competitors are divided into 32 groups of four and matches are played in a round-robin format. Group matches are best of four frames, with three points awarded for a win and one for a draw.

The winners of those 32 sections progress to stage two, which features eight groups of four. The eight players who top the stage-two groups then go into stage three of the Championship League, featuring two sections of four.

The players who finish top of those two groups meet in the final, which is a best-of-five-frames contest.

Championship League history

The Championship League ranking event was introduced in September 2020, so the next edition of the competition will be the fifth time it has taken place.

However, the Championship League non-ranking invitational event, which has a similar format, is a more venerable fixture on the snooker calendar, having been staged every year since 2008, when Joe Perry beat Mark Selby in the inaugural final. 

Murphy landed his third Championship League trophy when beaten Mark Williams 3-0 in the final at the Morningside Arena in July 2023.

Championship League previous winners

The first three runnings of the Championship League ranking event have produced three different champions, with Kyren Wilson beating Judd Trump 3-1 in the 2020 final in Milton Keynes.

David Gilbert saw off Mark Allen in the 2021 final in Leicester and in 2022 Luca Brecel - who went on to win the World Championship in May 2023 - defeated China's Lu Ning.

Brecel and Wilson have also triumphed in the non-ranking event, lifting the trophy in 2020 and 2021 respectively.

Scotland's John Higgins has been the dominant force in that tournament, winning four of the last eight titles, while Trump was victorious in 2009, 2014 and 2016.

Championship League odds

Trump, Ronnie O’Sullivan, Selby and Neil Robertson are all likely to be towards the front of the market when betting becomes available. 

Bet365 will offer match betting, group and outright odds at each stage of the competition.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet £10 & Get £30 in Free Bets Join Now

Min deposit requirement. Free Bets are paid as Bet Credits and are available for use upon settlement of qualifying bets. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply.