Skip to content
en-gb GO TO bet365 Sports
Ronnie O'Sullivan comes into the tournament off the back of a loss to David Grace
  1. Snooker
  2. Snooker

Champion of Champions: Dates, schedule, players, history & more

The Champion of Champions is a non-ranking snooker tournament that has been held 11 times since making its debut back in 1980.

Winners of World Snooker events over the preceding 12 months make up the 16-strong field, although any places not filled will be taken by the highest placed players in the world rankings.

Champion of Champions dates

Barring the 1980 edition, which was played in October, the other 10 tournaments have taken place in the month of November. 

The 2023 event will take place from 13th November - 19th November at the Bolton Stadium Hotel, which hosted the competition for the first time in 2021.

Champion of Champions venue

The first ever Champion of Champions was played at the Wembley Conference Centre in London in 1978 before the second edition, in 1980, was at the New London Theatre in the capital. 

From 2013-2019 the tournament was staged at the Ricoh Arena in Coventry before the Marshall Arena in Milton Keynes was picked as host in 2020. 

In 2021, the Champion of Champions was staged at the Bolton Stadium Hotel in Bolton, which also hosted last year's tournament and the upcoming edition.

Champion of Champions how to watch

UK viewers can catch the action on ITV4, with coverage scheduled to start at 12:45pm on Monday 13th November.

Champion of Champions who has qualified? 

Ronnie O’Sullivan, John Higgins, Chris Wakelin, Mark Selby, Ali Carter, Mark Allen, Jimmy White, Judd Trump, Baipat Siripaporn, Shaun Murphy, Gary Wilson, Mark Williams, Robert Milkins, Luca Brecel and Barry Hawkins will be part of the 16-cueman field. The final spot will be taken by either Tom Ford, Zhang Anda or Ding Junhui. 

Champion of Champions odds

The event is split into four mini groups of four potters and Allen is the 5/4 favourite ahead of 6/4 chance Mark Selby in Group 1. 

Williams is the 13/8 jolly in section 2, with Trump a red-hot 2/5 market leader in Group 3. 

The final section and outright prices will be available when the last qualification spot has been filled. 

Champion of Champions previous winners

The Champion of Champions has taken place 12 times, with Ray Reardon winning the inaugural event in 1978 before Doug Mountjoy triumphed in the second edition in 1980.

Snooker fans had to wait 33 years until the tournament was back on the schedule, returning in 2013 at the Ricoh Arena where O'Sullivan came out on top.

O'Sullivan retained his crown in 2014 and has gone on to win a further two Champion of Champions titles, emerging victorious in 2018 and 2022.

Neil Robertson is a two-time winner of the event, while Murphy, Allen and Trump have all got their hands on the trophy in the last decade.

Champion of Champions format

The 16-player event features all of the winners on the professional World Snooker Tour circuit over the last year.

Drawn into groups of four, the players participate in a group semi-final match (best of seven), with the winners going head-to-head in the group finals (best of 11).

The four winners then progress to the semi-finals before the final (best of 19).

Champion of Champions prize money

As this is an invitational event there are no world ranking points on offer, but the winner will take home £150,000, with the runner-up getting £60,000.

Making the semi-final will secure a £30,000 payout, while the quarter-finalists receive £17,500 and the first round losers go home with £12,500.

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet £10 & Get £30 in Free Bets

Join Now

Min deposit requirement. Free Bets are paid as Bet Credits and are available for use upon settlement of qualifying bets. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply.