Skip to content
en-gb GO TO bet365 Sports
Ronnie O'Sullivan comes into the tournament off the back of a loss to David Grace
  1. Snooker
  2. Snooker

Champion of Champions: All You Need to Know

The Champion of Champions is a non-ranking snooker tournament that has been held 11 times since making its debut back in 1980.

View Latest Odds

Winners of World Snooker events over the preceding 12 months make up the 16-strong field, although any places not filled will be taken by the highest-placed players in the world rankings. 

As this is an invitational event there are no world ranking points on offer, but the winner will take home £150,000, with the runner-up getting £60,000. 

Making the semi-final will secure a £30,000 payout, while the quarter-finalists receive £17,500 and the first round losers go home with £12,500.

WhatChampion of Champions
WhereBolton Whites Hotel, Bolton
WhenOctober 31st - November 6th 2022
How to watchITV4
OddsNeil Robertson 10/3, Ronnie O'Sullivan 7/2, Mark Selby 11/2, Judd Trump 11/2

When is the Champion of Champions?

Barring the 1980 edition, which was played in October, the other 10 tournaments have taken place in the month of November. 

The 2022 event will take place from October 31st - November 6th at Bolton Whites Hotel, which hosted the competition for the first time in 2021.

Where is the Champion of Champions?

The first ever Champion of Champions was played at the Wembley Conference Centre in London 1978 before the second edition, in 1980, was at the New London Theatre in the capital. 

Related Snooker News

Northern Ireland Open Preview

From 2013-2019, the tournament was staged at the Ricoh Arena in Coventry before the Marshall Arena in Milton Keynes was picked as host in 2020. 

In 2021, the Bolton Whites Hotel in Bolton was the venue and this has again been chosen as host for this year's tournament.

Can I watch the Champion of Champions?

UK viewers can catch the action on ITV4 from 12:45.

How many times has the Champion of Champions taken place?

The Champion of Champions has taken place 11 times, having first debuted in 1978 before the second edition was played in 1980. 

Snooker fans had to wait 33 years until the tournament was back on the schedule, returning in 2013 at the Ricoh Arena when Ronnie O'Sullivan triumphed for the first time. 

It has been played every year since 2013, with the 2022 competition being the 12th edition.

Who has won the Champion of Champions on the most occasions?

Englishman O'Sullivan is the only player to win this event three times, having triumphed in 2013, 2014 and 2018, while he also lost in the final in 2016 and 2017. 

Australian Neil Robertson has lifted the trophy twice, in 2015 and 2019, while John Higgins, Judd Trump, Mark Allen, Shaun Murphy, Doug Mountjoy and Ray Reardon have all tasted success once.

Who are the favourites for the Champion of Champions 2022?

Robertson is the 10/3 favourite to win a record-equalling third title, ahead of 7/2 O'Sullivan, who is aiming to claim the spoils for the fourth time. 

The Thunder from Down Under has been drawn against Fan Zhengyi in round one, while The Rocket will face fellow Englishman Robert Milkins first up. 

Higgins, champion in 2016 and a beaten finalist in 2021, will take on Hossein Vafaei in his opening match. 

The Wizard of Wishaw is 11/1 to win the title for the second time.

    • facebook
    • twitter
bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet £10 & Get £30 in Free Bets

Join Now

Min deposit requirement. Free Bets are paid as Bet Credits and are available for use upon settlement of qualifying bets. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply.