Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. Horse Racing

Betfair Chase: Previous Winners

The Betfair Chase is a Grade 1 National Hunt steeplechase and is one of the highlights of the jumping season in Great Britain.

It is known for its gruelling trip over three miles, one furlong and 125 yards, and horses competing in the contest often have to overcome testing conditions.

There have been some wide-margin winners over the years, and it remains one of the key races in the calendar as the jumps season takes precedence.

Here is the complete list of every Betfair Chase winner at Haydock Park since 2005, with a reminder you can watch the next instalment on Saturday 25th November 2023 via the bet365 Sports Live Streaming Service.

What:Betfair Chase
Where:Haydock Park, Haydock
When:15:00, Saturday 25th November 2023
How to watch:bet365 Sports Live Streaming, ITV & Racing TV
Odds:Protektorat 1/1, Shishkin 10/3, Gerri Colombe 9/2, L'homme Presse 6/1, Bravemansgame 8/1

The 2000s

The race was first established in 2005, and Robert Alner celebrated his first and only success in the race in the inaugural event.

The legendary Kauto Star won the first of his four Betfair Chase races 12 months later in what would turn out to be a special event for connections.

Paul Nicholls' runner won the contest no fewer than three times in four years to prove he was the one to beat at Haydock.

2005KingscliffRobert WalfordRobert Alner8/1
2006Kauto StarRuby WalshPaul Nicholls11/10
2007Kauto StarSam ThomasPaul Nicholls4/5
2008Snoopy LoopySeamus DurackPeter Bowen33/1
2009Kauto StarRuby WalshPaul Nicholls4/6

The 2010s

Nigel Twiston-Davies started the decade off well with a winner as Imperial Commander landed the spoils in 2010 under Paddy Brennan, and the duo would go on to have plenty of success in the race.

Twiston-Davies won the race three times in the next 10 years, while Brennan's partnership with Cue Card for Colin Tizzard handed him another two successes. Cue Card won the race three times in four years to put his name in the century books.

Year HorseJockeyTrainerOdds
2010Imperial CommanderPaddy BrennanNigel Twiston-Davies10/11
2011Kauto StarRuby WalshPaul Nicholls6/1
2012Silviniaco ContiRuby WalshPaul Nicholls7/4
2013Cue CardJoe TizzardColin Tizzard9/1
2014Silviniaco ContiNoel FehilyPaul Nicholls10/3
2015Cue CardPaddy BrennanColin Tizzard7/4
2016Cue CardPaddy BrennanColin Tizzard15/8
2017Bristol De MaiDaryl JacobNigel Twiston-Davies11/10
2018Bristol De MaiDaryl JacobNigel Twiston-Davies13/2
2019LostintranslationRobbie PowerColin Tizzard5/4

The 2020s

Twiston-Davies' Bristol De Mai was another horse with multiple successes in the race, and he started the decade like he ended the previous one, as a winner.

The iconic grey won successive races in 2017 and 2018, with Daryl Jacob on board for all of those wins.

Dan Skelton's first success in the Betfair Chase came in 2022, as Protektorat landed the spoils at a price of 15/2.

2020Bristol De MaiDaryl JacobNigel Twiston-Davies9/4
2021A Plus TardRachael BlackmoreHenry de Bromhead11/10
2022ProtektoratHarry SkeltonDan Skelton15/2
Horse Racing

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet £10 & Get £30 in Free Bets Join Now

Min deposit requirement. Free Bets are paid as Bet Credits and are available for use upon settlement of qualifying bets. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply.