Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. Cricket
  2. The Hundred

The Hundred: Date, schedule, history & betting odds

The Hundred is a 100-ball domestic cricket competition which was launched by the England and Wales Cricket Board in the summer of 2021.

Eight city-based franchises compete in men's and women's tournaments and organisers will be hoping that The Hundred's popularity continues to grow in its fourth season in 2024.

The Hundred Dates

The Hundred 2024 gets underway on Tuesday the 23rd July, with double headers featuring the men's and women's teams taking place daily throughout July and August.

The Eliminators are set to take place on Saturday 17th August, with both Finals scheduled for Sunday 18th August.

The Hundred Time

Most of The Hundred fixtures are double-headers featuring women's and men's matches at the same venue on the same day.

The women's matches take place earlier in the day, usually between 14:00 and 15:00, with the men's matches usually evening starts around 18:00.

The Hundred Venues

The eight teams in The Hundred are located in various cities across England and Wales, with matches taking place in Birmingham, London, Manchester, Leeds, Southampton, Nottingham and Cardiff.

Birmingham Phoenix play their home games at Edgbaston, Oval Invincibles at The Oval, London Spirit at Lord's, Manchester Originals at OId Trafford, Northern Superchargers at Headingley, Southern Brave at the Rose Bowl, Trent Rockets at Trent Bridge and Welsh Fire at Sophia Gardens.

The men's and women's finals are held at Lord's.

The Hundred How to watch

Fans of The Hundred can watch every ball of every match on Sky Sports' dedicated channel, Sky Sports The Hundred. 

BBC Sport are also planning to broadcast several men's and women's fixtures during the 2024 summer on BBC One, BBC Two and BBC iPlayer.

The Hundred Format

The Hundred is a 100-ball cricket tournament which involves eight men's and eight women's teams. The teams are all located in major cities across England and Wales and the ECB governs the event.

Like one-day internationals and Twenty20 matches, The Hundred is a limited-overs event in which each team bats in a single innings made up of 100 deliveries.

In the league stage of the competition, each side plays four matches at home and four games on the road.

The teams which finish top of the men's and women's league progresses straight into the final, while those who finish second and third in the table play off in an eliminator.

The Hundred History

The 2024 season will be the fourth edition of The Hundred. The inaugural event took place in 2021 and, despite some initial scepticism, the tournament has captured the imagination of limited-overs cricket fans.

Southern Brave were the first men's champions in 2021 with Trent Rockets lifting the trophy in 2022 and Oval Invincibles triumphing in 2023. Manchester Originals were the losing finalists in each of the last two campaigns.

In the women's tournament, Oval Invincibles claimed back-to-back titles in 2021 and 2022 before Southern Brave, captained by England bowler Anya Shrubsole, beat Northern Superchargers by 34 runs in the 2023 final.

The Hundred Draft System

The men's and women's squads are made up of 15 players, four of whom can be from overseas. Players are signed using a draft system which is similar to those used in other franchise leagues such as the Indian Premier League.

At least one England international player is signed to each team in The Hundred but the draft is a crucial factor in the success of each franchise.

In 2023 the women's competition featured a draft for the first time. Each of the eight women's teams expanded their squads to eight players before the final seven spots were filled on an open-market basis.

From July 2023, the men's franchises were able to add two more players through the Wildcard Draft, which offers opportunities to players who have impressed during the Vitality Blast, the T20 tournament for English county teams.

The Hundred Favourites

Oval Invincibles Men were worthy champions of The Hundred in 2023, losing only one of their eight league matches before a 14-run victory over Manchester Originals in the final.

The Invincibles remain the favourites to retain their crown in 2024 after retaining their strong core of England internationals including Will Jacks, Sam Curran, Sam Billings, Gus Atkinson and Tom Curran, who was player of the match in the 2023 final.

Read more on The Hundred 2024 men's and women's odds.

The Hundred

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet £10 & Get £30 in Free Bets Join Now

Min deposit requirement. Free Bets are paid as Bet Credits and are available for use upon settlement of qualifying bets. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply.