Skip to content
en-ca GO TO bet365 Sports

World Cup of Darts - All You Need to Know

The most unique darts tournament of the season sees the top players representing their countries as they aim to bring home the World Cup of Darts.

A tournament featuring 32 teams of two in the PDC calendar is one that often throws up big upsets and gives those who may not have won a major title on their own the chance to taste such success.

The pairs will descend on Frankfurt for this year's tournament where Scotland are looking to retain their title after Peter Wright and John Henderson were successful in last year's event.

When is the World Cup of Darts?

The World Cup of Darts takes place between 16-19 June. The event is a key part of the PDC’s summer schedule.

Where is the World Cup of Darts?

The World Cup of Darts will be hosted in Frankfurt’s Eissporthalle this season. The venue hosted the competition between 2015 and 2018.

The tournament has taken place in Germany in all but two of its 12 editions, with the first event in 2010 taking place in England and the 2020 version in Salzburg, Austria.

Can I watch the World Cup of Darts?

The World Cup of Darts is due to be shown live on Sky Sports in the United Kingdom while DAZN and RTL7 are worldwide broadcast partners.

How many times has the World Cup of Darts taken place?

This year’s edition is the 12th World Cup of Darts since its inception in 2010. The Netherlands duo of Co Stompe and Raymond van Barneveld beat Wales 4-2 in the first edition’s final.

How often is the World Cup of Darts?

The World Cup of Darts takes place annually.

Who has won the World Cup of Darts on the most occasions?

Both England and Netherlands have won the World Cup of Darts four times, which is the joint-most of any nation. However, after the pair’s early successes in which they shared the first eight tournaments between them, neither country has won any of the last three editions.

England have reached six finals, while the Netherlands have managed to make five. Scotland are next on the list of most successful nations with four finals appearances and two victories.

Related Darts News

Darts: Exclusive Jonny Clayton Interview

Darts: Exclusive Michael Smith Interview

Darts: Exclusive Peter Wright Interview

Darts: Exclusive Michael van Gerwen Interview

Peter Wright and John Henderson took home the trophy last season after beating Austria 3-1 in the final.

The only other side to win the World Cup of Darts was Wales, when Gerwyn Price and Jonny Clayton got the better of England in the 2020 edition.

Who is the top seed for the World Cup of Darts?

The English pairing of Michael Smith and James Wade are number one seeds for this year's tournament. The other seven seeds are, in order: Wales, Netherlands, Belgium, Australia, Northern Ireland, Scotland and Germany.

No unseeded side has ever won the tournament but three such teams have reached the final - Belgium in 2013 and two in the last three tournaments - Ireland in 2019 and Austria in 2021.

How are the pairs picked?

The PDC selects the two players who will make up each country's pair. Typically they are the two highest ranked players from that nation on the PDC Order of Merit but there are some exceptions.

For example there are four Scottish players ranked ahead of John Henderson on the PDC Order of Merit but he has been chosen as the partner of Peter Wright as they are defending champions.

Discover more from the world's favourite online betting brand

More darts betting news

Latest sports betting and odds

Watch sports live streaming

Latest darts results

Head to the bet365 YouTube channel for exclusive content

Sign up - bet365 Open Account Offer

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Get up to $100 in Bet Credits

Join Now

Returns exclude Bet Credits wager. T&Cs, time limits and exclusions apply