Skip to content
en-ca GO TO bet365 Sports
The NFL season has entered the playoffs stage
  1. NFL

NFL Playoffs: All You Need to Know

After a gruelling 18-week schedule, the NFL season is over and we now know who will be fighting it out for a place at Super LVII, which will be held at the State Farm Stadium in Arizona.

For the third year in a row, the post-season will feature 14 teams and with the action set to resume, here is our guide to the NFL playoffs.

What2023 NFL Championship
WhereState Farm Stadium, Arizona
WhenSunday February 12th, 2023
How to watchCTV, TSN & RDS
OddsKC Chiefs +340, BUF Bills +400, PHI Eagles +500, SF 49ers +550

How do the NFL playoffs work?

The 32 NFL teams are divided into eight divisions, four in the American Football Conference (AFC) and the National Football Conference (NFC), and each division winner qualifies for the playoffs.

The four winners are then ranked from first to fourth in relation to their regular-season record and are seeded for the playoffs as such, with the first seeds given a bye into the second round of the playoffs.

This year, the number-one seeds in the AFC are the Kansas City Chiefs, while the Philadelphia Eagles secured the same spot in the NFC.

The three teams from each conference with the best regular-season record who did not win their division also advance into the playoffs, and the bottom six ranked entrants will play in the wildcard round, with the highest-ranked team playing at home.

So, the second-seeded team will host the seventh-seeded team, the third-seeded team will host the sixth-seeded team and the fourth-seeded team will host the fifth-seeded team.

The winners of those three games will progress to the divisional round, where the lowest-seeded team will travel to the number one seeds while the highest-ranked team of the remaining two will play at home.

That means it is feasible that the number one seeds could face the number four seeds, or they could face anyone down to the number-seven seeds, depending on who comes out on top of the wildcard rounds.

Consequently, it is not a straight bracket like the one used for the NCAA March Madness basketball competition and nor is it an FA Cup-style draw either.

The two winning teams in the divisional rounds will then face off in the two Conference Championship matches, with the winners of those games heading to the championship game.

Related NFL News

NFL: Week 18 Talking Points

When do the NFL playoffs start?

The wildcard matches this season will take place between Saturday 14th January and Monday 16th January.

The following weekend, Saturday 21st January and Sunday 22nd January, the Divisional Round begins.

Both Conference Championship matches will take place on Sunday January 29th, while the championship game is set to take place in Arizona on 12th February.

Singer Rihanna will perform at the half-time show in what will be her first live performance in over five years.

Who made the NFL playoffs?

The seven teams that made the playoffs in the AFC are the Chiefs (seeded one), Buffalo Bills (2), Cincinnati Bengals (3), Jacksonville Jaguars (4), Los Angeles Chargers (5), Baltimore Ravens (6) and Miami Dolphins (7).

In the NFC, the Eagles finished as top seeds, while the San Francisco 49ers (2), Minnesota Vikings (3), Tampa Bay Buccaneers (4), Dallas Cowboys (5), New York Giants (6) and Seattle Seahawks (7) also secured their post-season spot.

What happened in last year's NFL playoffs?

The Tennessee Titans (AFC) and Green Bay Packers (NFC) finished as number-one seeds last year, meaning they did not play until the Divisional playoffs.

However, both sides lost their Divisional matchups, with the 49ers beating Green Bay 13-10, while the Bengals beat Tennessee 19-16.

Sadly for the 49ers, their hopes ended in the NFC Championship game as they lost 20-17 to the Los Angeles Rams.

The Bengals met them in the big one after beating the Chiefs 27-24, but they lost 23-20 at the SoFi Stadium, as the Rams won on home soil.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Get up to $100 in Bet Credits

Join Now

Returns exclude Bet Credits wager. T&Cs, time limits and exclusions apply