Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. NHL
  2. NHL Draft

NHL Draft: Every No. 1 pick

A complete list of every number one overall pick in NHL Draft history, from Garry Monahan in 1963 to Connor Bedard in 2023.

The first overall pick in the NHL Draft can change the fortunes of a franchise overnight. We saw it in 2005 with Sidney Crosby, then in 2015 with Connor McDavid, and now in 2023 with Connor Bedard.

Continue reading for complete list of number one overall NHL Draft picks, from the Montreal Canadians selecting Garry Monahan in 1963 to the Chicago Blackhawks taking Connor Bedard in 2023.

1963Montreal CanadiensGarry Monahan
1964Detroit Red WingsClaude Gauthier
1965New York RangersAndre Veilleux
1966Boston BruinsBarry Gibbs
1967Los Angeles KingsRick Pagnutti
1968Montreal CanadiensMichel Plasse
1969Montreal CanadiensRejean Houle
1970Buffalo SabresGilbert Perreault
1971Montreal CanadiensGuy Lafleur
1972New York IslandersBilly Harris
1973New York IslandersDenis Potvin
1974Washington CapitalsGreg Joly
1975Philadelphia FlyersMel Bridgman
1976Washington CapitalsRick Green
1977Detroit Red WingsDale McCourt
1978Minnesota North StarsBobby Smith
1979Colorado RockiesRob Ramage
1980Montreal CanadiensDoug Wickenheiser
1981Winnipeg JetsDale Hawerchuk
1982Boston BruinsGord Kluzak
1983Minnesota North StarsBrian Lawton
1984Pittsburgh PenguinsMario Lemieux
1985Toronto Maple LeafsWendel Clark
1986Detroit Red WingsJoe Murphy
1987Buffalo SabresPierre Turgeon
1988Minnesota North StarsMike Modano
1989Quebec NordiquesMats Sundin
1990Quebec NordiquesOwen Nolan
1991Quebec NordiquesEric Lindros
1992Tampa Bay LightningRoman Hamrlik
1993Ottawa SenatorsAlexandre Daigle
1994Florida PanthersEd Jovanovski
1995Ottawa SenatorsBryan Berard
1996Ottawa SenatorsChris Phillips
1997Boston BruinsJoe Thornton
1998Tampa Bay LightningVincent Lecavalier
1999Atlanta ThrashersPatrik Stefan
2000New York IslandersRick DiPietro
2001Atlanta ThrashersIlya Kovalchuk
2002Columbus Blue JacketsRick Nash
2003Pittsburgh PenguinsMarc-Andre Fleury
2004Washington CapitalsAlex Ovechkin
2005Pittsburgh PenguinsSidney Crosby
2006St. Louis BluesErik Johnson
2007Chicago BlackhawksPatrick Kane
2008Tampa Bay LightningSteven Stamkos
2009New York IslandersJohn Tavares
2010Edmonton OilersTaylor Hall
2011Edmonton OilersRyan Nugent-Hopkins
2012Edmonton OilersNail Yakupov
2013Colorado AvalancheNathan MacKinnon
2014Florida PanthersAaron Ekblad
2015Edmonton OilersConnor McDavid
2016Toronto Maple LeafsAuston Matthews
2017New Jersey DevilsNico Hischier
2018Buffalo SabresRasmus Dahlin
2019New Jersey DevilsJack Hughes
2020New York RangersAlexis Lafreniere
2021Buffalo SabresOwen Power
2022Montreal CanadiensJuraf Slafovsky
2023Chicago BlackhawksConnor Bedard

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

in Bonus Bets
BET $10
in Bonus Bets
Join Now
Deposit required (min $10). Paid in Bonus Bets. Bonus Bets wager excluded from returns. New customers only. T&Cs, time limits and exclusions apply. View Full Terms and Conditions.