Skip to content
en-ca GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. Cricket

Everything you need to know about the T20 World Cup

After a five-year break, the Men’s T20 World Cup is taking place in the United Arab Emirates and Oman. bet365 are here to provide you with everything you need to know about one of the most exciting tournaments in the sporting calendar.

What is the T20 World Cup?

The T20 World Cup is the international championship of T20 international cricket. The event is usually held every two years, but has been delayed and then relocated due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

When is the T20 World Cup?

The 2021 T20 World Cup will consist of 45 matches in total running from Sunday 17th October until Sunday 14th November.

Tournament Format

The T20 World Cup is currently made up of 16 teams - the top 10 teams in the world rankings and the six teams that have made it through the qualifying rounds.

There will be two rounds in total round 1 will feature 12 matches between eight teams – Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Ireland, Netherlands, Scotland, Namibia, Oman and Papua New Guinea.

Four of these teams will make it through and join India, Afghanistan, Australia, England, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa and West Indies in the Super 12 stage.

Group A

Sri Lanka

Group B

Papua New Guinea

The Super 12 stage will feature two groups of six, from which the top two from each group will make it through to the semi-finals. In the last four, the Group 1 winners will play the Group 2 runners-up and the Group 2 winners will play the Group 1 runners-up for a place in the final.

The current Super 12 groups and their outright prices:

Group 1

Australia - 6/1
England - 10/3
South Africa - 12/1
West Indies - 6/1
To be confirmed
To be confirmed

Group 2

Afghanistan - 50/1
India - 5/2
New Zealand - 7/1
Pakistan - 10/1
To be confirmed
To be confirmed

Across both group stages, 2 points will be awarded for a win and each team will receive 1 point if there is a No Result. In the event of a tie, a Super Over will be played to determine the match winner.

Related Cricket News

England forced to swap Currans

Buttler bullish despite absentees

Tector vows Irish will find form

T20 World Cup History

This year’s tournament will be the seventh iteration since the inaugural staging of the event in 2007. West Indies are the only nation to have won the T20 World Cup twice – their second success coming in the last tournament held back in 2016 following a dramatic final against England.

2021 World Cup Outlook

Virat Kohli’s India go in to the tournament as favourites. As well as their inspirational captain, the likes of Rohit Sharma and Rishabh Pant will be expected to entertain with their power hitting.

England’s white ball transformation under Eoin Morgan continues and they will be expected to feature in the latter stages of the tournament.

West Indies are always dangerous in this format and the defending champions will be hoping their talisman Chris Gayle is at his explosive best.

Discover more from the world's favourite online betting brand

More cricket betting news

Latest betting and odds

Latest cricket results

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Get up to $100 in Bet Credits

Join Now

Returns exclude Bet Credits wager. T&Cs, time limits and exclusions apply