Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
Alex Ovechkin has been a force in the NHL
  1. NHL
  2. NHL Playoffs

Every Team to Win the Stanley Cup

A complete list of every team to win the Stanley Cup from 1915 to 2023.

The Stanley Cup has been awarded every year since 1915, except for 1919, when the series was cancelled due to an outbreak of Spanish flu, and 2005, due to the NHL lockout.

Every member of the winning team gets their name etched on the Cup, and it is an accolade earned literally through blood, sweat and tears.

Here, we look back at all the previous Stanley Cup champions, along with a full list of every winner since it was first awarded to the NHL champions in 1915 through to the 2023 Vegas Golden Knights.

Which team has won the Stanley Cup most times?

The Montreal Canadiens hold the record for most Cup wins with 24.

However neither the Habs nor any other Canadian franchise has lifted Lord Stanley's Cup since 1993.

The second most successful team, the Toronto Maple Leafs, are a long way behind with 13 and haven't won since 1967, while the top US team are Detroit Red Wings with 11 championships.

Of the current 32 NHL teams, 21 have won the Stanley Cup with the most recent additions being 2023 champions Vegas Golden Knights in only their sixth season of competition.

Which coach has won the most Stanley Cups?

Canadian Scotty Bowman won the Cup nine times as a head coach between 1973 and 2002. 

Five of those were with Montreal, including four in a row between 1976 and 1979. Bowman also lifted the Cup with the Pittsburgh Penguins in 1992 and the Detroit Red Wings in 1997, 1998 and 2002.

Toe Blake was not far behind with eight wins, all with the Montreal Canadiens, between 1956 and 1968.

Which player has won the most Stanley Cups?

In the history of North American sports, only two players have won 11 championships - NBA player Bill Russell and the NHL's Henri Richard.

The "Pocket Rocket" played as a centreman for the Montreal Canadiens for 20 seasons, winning all his titles with the legendary franchise.

The list of multiple Cup-winning players is dominated by Canadiens representatives, with Jean Beliveau and Yvan Cournoyer on 10 each and Claude Provost on nine, as well as Richard's older brother Maurice "Rocket" Richard with eight.

Another eight-time winner, Red Kelly, is the only player in the top 19 not to have won any of his titles with Montreal, having lifted the Cup four times each for Detroit and Toronto.

The player known as The Great One, Wayne Gretzky, won the Stanley Cup four times with the Edmonton Oilers between 1984 and 1988.

Previous winners


1915 Vancouver Millionaires 3-0 Ottawa Senators
1916 Montreal Canadiens 3-2 Portland Rosebuds
1917 Seattle Metropolitans 3-2 Montreal Canadiens
1918 Toronto Hockey Club 3-2 Vancouver Millionaires
1919 Montreal Canadiens Abd Seattle Metropolitans
1920 Ottawa Senators 3-2 Seattle Metropolitans
1921 Ottawa Senators 3-2 Vancouver Millionaires
1922 Toronto St Patricks 3-2 Vancouver Millionaires
1923 Ottawa Senators 2-0 Edmonton Eskimos
1924 Montreal Canadiens 2-0 Calgary Tigers
1925 Victoria Cougars 3-1 Montreal Canadiens
1926 Montreal Maroons 3-1 Victoria Cougars
1927 Ottawa Senators 2-0 Boston Bruins
1928 New York Rangers 3-2 Montreal Maroons
1929 Boston Bruins 2-0 New York Rangers


1930 Montreal Canadiens2-0Boston Bruins
1931 Montreal Canadiens3-2Chicago Black Hawks
1932 Toronto Maple Leafs3-0New York Rangers
1933 New York Rangers3-1Toronto Maple Leafs
1934 Chicago Black Hawks3-1Detroit Red Wings
1935 Montreal Maroons3-0Toronto Maple Leafs
1936 Detroit Red Wings3-1Toronto Maple Leafs
1937 Detroit Red Wings3-2New York Rangers
1938 Chicago Black Hawks3-1Toronto Maple Leafs
1939 Boston Bruins4-1Toronto Maple Leafs


1940New York Rangers4-2Toronto Maple Leafs
1941Boston Bruins4-0Detroit Red Wings
1942Toronto Maple Leafs4-3Detroit Red Wings
1943Detroit Red Wings4-0Boston Bruins
1944Montreal Canadiens4-0Chicago Black Hawks
1945Toronto Maple Leafs4-3Detroit Red Wings
1946Montreal Canadiens4-1Boston Bruins
1947Toronto Maple Leafs4-2Montreal Canadiens
1948Toronto Maple Leafs4-0Detroit Red Wings
1949Toronto Maple Leafs4-0Detroit Red Wings


1950Detroit Red Wings4-3New York Rangers
1951Toronto Maple Leafs4-1Montreal Canadiens
1952Detroit Red Wings4-0Montreal Canadiens
1953Montreal Canadiens4-1Boston Bruins
1954Detroit Red Wings4-3Montreal Canadiens
1955Detroit Red Wings4-3Montreal Canadiens
1956Montreal Canadiens4-1Detroit Red Wings
1957Montreal Canadiens4-1Boston Bruins
1958Montreal Canadiens4-2Boston Bruins
1959Montreal Canadiens4-1Toronto Maple Leafs


1960Montreal Canadiens4-0Toronto Maple Leafs
1961Chicago Black Hawks4-2Detroit Red Wings
1962Toronto Maple Leafs4-2Chicago Black Hawks
1963Toronto Maple Leafs4-1Detroit Red Wings
1964Toronto Maple Leafs4-3Detroit Red Wings
1965Montreal Canadiens4-3Chicago Black Hawks
1966Montreal Canadiens4-2Detroit Red Wings
1967Toronto Maple Leafs4-2Montreal Canadiens
1968Montreal Canadiens4-0St Louis Blues
1969Montreal Canadiens4-0St Louis Blues


1970Boston Bruins4-0St Louis Blues
1971Montreal Canadiens4-3Chicago Black Hawks
1972Boston Bruins4-2New York Rangers
1973Montreal Canadiens4-2Chicago Black Hawks
1974Philadelphia Flyers4-2Boston Bruins
1975Philadelphia Flyers4-2Buffalo Sabres
1976Montreal Canadiens4-0Philadelphia Flyers
1977Montreal Canadiens4-0Boston Bruins
1978Montreal Canadiens4-2Boston Bruins
1979Montreal Canadiens4-1New York Rangers


1980New York Islanders4-2Philadelphia Flyers
1981New York Islanders4-1Minnesota North Stars
1982New York Islanders4-0Vancouver Canucks
1983New York Islanders4-0Edmonton Oilers
1984Edmonton Oilers4-1New York Islanders
1985Edmonton Oilers4-1Philadelphia Flyers
1986Montreal Canadiens4-1Calgary Flames
1987Edmonton Oilers4-3Philadelphia Flyers
1988Edmonton Oilers4-0Boston Bruins
1989Calgary Flames4-2Montreal Canadiens


1990Edmonton Oilers4-1Boston Bruins
1991Pittsburgh Penguins4-2Minnesota North Stars
1992Pittsburgh Penguins4-0Chicago Blackhawks
1993Montreal Canadiens4-1Los Angeles Kings
1994New York Rangers4-3Vancouver Canucks
1995New Jersey Devils4-0Detroit Red Wings
1996Colorado Avalanche4-0Florida Panthers
1997Detroit Red Wings4-0Philadelphia Flyers
1998Detroit Red Wings4-0Washington Capitals
1999Dallas Stars4-2Buffalo Sabres


2000New Jersey Devils4-2Dallas Stars
2001Colorado Avalanche4-3New Jersey Devils
2002Detroit Red Wings4-1Carolina Hurricanes
2003New Jersey Devils4-3Mighty Ducks of Anaheim
2004Tampa Bay Lightning4-3Calgary Flames
2005Season cancelled due to lockdown  
2006Carolina Hurricanes4-3Edmonton Oilers
2007Anaheim Ducks4-1Ottawa Senators
2008Detroit Red Wings4-2Pittsburgh Penguins
2009Pittsburgh Penguins4-3Detroit Red Wings


2010Chicago Blackhawks4-2Philadelphia Flyers
2011Boston Bruins4-3Vancouver Canucks
2012Los Angeles Kings4-2New Jersey Devils
2013Chicago Blackhawks4-2Boston Bruins
2014Los Angeles Kings4-1New York Rangers
2015Chicago Blackhawks4-2Tampa Bay Lightning
2016Pittsburgh Penguins4-2San Jose Sharks
2017Pittsburgh Penguins4-2Nashville Predators
2018Washington Capitals4-1Vegas Golden Knights
2019St Louis Blues4-3Boston Bruins


2020Tampa Bay Lightning4-2Dallas Stars
2021Tampa Bay Lightning4-1Montreal Canadiens
2022Colorado Avalanche4-2Tampa Bay Lightning
2023Vegas Golden Knights4-1Florida Panthers

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

in Bonus Bets
BET $10
in Bonus Bets
Join Now
Deposit required (min $10). Paid in Bonus Bets. Bonus Bets wager excluded from returns. New customers only. T&Cs, time limits and exclusions apply. View Full Terms and Conditions.