Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
The NFL season has entered the playoffs stage
  1. CFL

CFL Teams: History, championships, notable players & more

The Canadian Football League (CFL) is to Canada what the NFL is to the United States.

However, it is a far smaller league, with just nine teams competing for the Grey Cup and it is broken down into just two divisions.

East Division

With an odd number of teams making up the CFL, there is one division with fewer teams, which is the East Division. We have those four teams outlined for you here:

Hamilton Tiger-Cats

  • Date Founded: 1950
  • Division: East
  • Stadium & Location: Tim Hortons Field in Hamilton, Ontario
  • Championships: 8
  • Notable players: Carlton Gilchrist, Bralon Addison, Tunde Adeleke, Johnny Adams, Archie Amerson

Montreal Alouettes

  • Date Founded: 1996
  • Division: East
  • Stadium & Location: Percival Molson Memorial Stadium in Montreal, Quebec
  • Championships: 7
  • Notable players: Anthony Calvillo, Ben Cahoon, Scott Flory, Michael Pringle, Bryan Chiu

Ottawa Redblacks

  • Date Founded: 2014
  • Division: East
  • Stadium & Location: TD Place Stadium in Ottawa, Ontario
  • Championships: 1
  • Notable players: Less Browne, Tony Gabriel, Ron Lancaster

Toronto Argonauts

  • Date Founded: 1873
  • Division: East
  • Stadium & Location: BMO Field in Toronto, Ontario
  • Championships: 18
  • Notable players: Doug Flutie, Shawn Oakman, Cam Phillips, Shane Ray, Chad Kelly

West Division

Shifting to the western side of Canada are the other five teams that make up the CFL, two of which reside in Alberta to generate one of the best rivalries:

BC Lions

  • Date Founded: 1954
  • Division: West
  • Stadium & Location: BC Place in Vancouver, British Columbia
  • Championships: 7
  • Notable players: Doug Flutie, Joe Kapp, Matt Dunigan, Willie Fleming, Lui Passaglia

Calgary Stampeders

  • Date Founded: 1945
  • Division: West
  • Stadium & Location: McMahon Stadium in Calgary, Alberta
  • Championships: 8
  • Notable players: Doug Flutie, Wayne Harris, John Helton, Bo Levi Mitchell, Allen Pitts

Edmonton Elks

  • Date Founded: 1949
  • Division: West
  • Stadium & Location: Commonwealth Stadium in Edmonton, Alberta
  • Championships: 14
  • Notable players: Warren Moon, Dan Kepley, Larry Highbaugh, Brian Kelly, Ricky Ray

Saskatchewan Roughriders

  • Date Founded: 1910
  • Division: West
  • Stadium & Location: Mosaic Stadium in Regina, Saskatchewan
  • Championships: 4
  • Notable players: Ron Lancaster, Darian Durant, Kory Sheets, Rob Bagg, John Chick

Winnipeg Blue Bombers

  • Date Founded: 1930
  • Division: West
  • Stadium & Location: IG Field in Winnipeg, Manitoba
  • Championships: 12
  • Notable players: Milt Stegall, Joe Poplawski, Ken Ploen, Ralph Brock, Chris Walby

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

in Bonus Bets
BET $10
in Bonus Bets
Join Now
Deposit required (min $10). Paid in Bonus Bets. Bonus Bets wager excluded from returns. New customers only. T&Cs, time limits and exclusions apply. View Full Terms and Conditions.