Skip to content

Australian Cricket: Australia set for T20 decider

The T20 series between India and Australia is set to go to a decider on Sunday after the home side won a rain-affected match to level matters at 1-1.

The second match was delayed for over two hours due to a waterlogged outfield and resulted in the game being reduced to eight overs for each side.

Australia were eventually put into bat by India and made 90 runs for the loss of five wickets off their eight overs.

Aaron Finch finally found some form with 31 runs from 15 deliveries but it was Matthew Wade who really shone when finishing 43 not out off 20 balls.

However it was not enough as India went on to wrap up a six-wicket win thanks mainly to the performance of captain Rohit Sharma. Who finished on 46 not out. His total came off just 20 deliveries.

It does mean the series is now on a knife edge and we have a great game to look forward to on Sunday.

So let’s take a closer look at the match as Australia look to seal a famous victory.

What: India v Australia
Where:  Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad
When: 23:30 (AEST) Sunday 25thth September 2022
How to watch: Kayo, Foxtel
Odds: India 4/7, Australia 11/8

Despite the loss in the second match there were plenty of positives for Australia to take from it.

Captain Finch has been having a tough time with the bat and will be delighted to be back among the runs with the T20 World Cup fast approaching.

The bowling performance of Adam Zampa was also a huge positive. The leg-spinner took three wickets in his two overs for the loss of 16 runs. The duo will now look to back up with similar performances on Sunday.

Team news

Australia have no fresh injury concerns but look sure to tinker with their starting eleven. They will revert to playing with seven batsmen with Josh Inglis set to come back into the side.

That means either Sean Abbott or Daniel Sams will make way. Australia could also consider resting either Pat Cummins or Josh Hazlewood following a hectic schedule.

Three games in the space of six days could be too much, but with a lack of pure pace options, Australia cannot leave both of them out of the side.

Australia could also tinker with the batting order after moving both Glenn Maxwell and Tim David up the order in the second game.

Maxwell was out for a duck and David made just two runs. However Finch says now is the time to try things out before the T20 World Cup gets underway.

"I think it's important that you're always looking at ways to improve and obviously we went with Maxwell at three and Tim David at four, so we were trying to be a bit more aggressive up front," Finch said.

"We haven't played too many shortened games so I think especially leading into a World Cup we've put some thought into it over some time."

Australia squad: Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Pat Cummins, Tim David, Nathan Ellis, Aaron Finch (c), Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Josh Inglis, Glenn Maxwell, Kane Richardson, Daniel Sams, Steve Smith, Matthew Wade, Adam Zampa.

Now that we revert to a full 20 over game once again India will also make changes to their starting side.

Rishabh Pant could be left out as India look set to go with an extra bowler in the decider. Bhuvneshwar Kumar could get the nod to make his return to the side while R Ashwin could come in to replace Yuzvendra Chahal.

Axar Patel caught the eye in India’s win when  taking two wickets for 13 runs off his two overs and will be a danger man once again.

Captain Sharma says he is a huge asset to his side and will be even more so when he clicks with the bay in hand as well.

"He can bowl in any phase of the game. That gives me an advantage to use him, especially if I have four overs of his, to use him in the powerplay,” Sharma said. “That frees up some of our fast bowlers in the middle if I want to use it. So he brings a lot to the table.

“In the last two games, what we saw is what Axar Patel is really all about. We are just waiting to see some of his batting skills as well. "

India squad: Rohit Sharma (c), KL Rahul (vc), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant, Dinesh Karthik, Hardik Pandya, Ravichandaran Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Deepak Chahar, Jasprit Bumrah, Umesh Yadav.

Discover more from the world's favourite online betting brand

More cricket betting news

Latest betting and odds

Latest cricket results

Looking forward to the week aheadr

Sign up - bet365 Open Account Offer

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Get up to $100 in Bet Credits

Become a member of the world's favorite online sports betting brand

Join Now

Returns exclude Bet Credits wager. T&Cs , time limits and exclusions apply