Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. NHL
  2. NHL Playoffs

2024 Stanley Cup Odds: Canadian Team +320 to break 31-year streak

There are two teams from Canada remaining in the 2024 NHL Stanley Cup Playoffs. Can they break the country's 31-year streak without winning the Cup?

Country of 2024 Stanley Cup Winner





2024 Stanley Cup Odds for Canadian Teams

EDM Oilers


VAN Canucks


Canadian teams entered the 2024 Stanley Cup Playoffs with +280 odds to break the 31-year streak without a Cup, but those odds have lengthened to +320 after two of the four playoff teams from north of the border got eliminated.

The Edmonton Oilers, led by Connor McDavid and Leon Draisaitl, have the shortest odds among Canadian teams - and the fourth-shortest odds overall - to win the 2024 NHL Stanley Cup at +450.

The Vancouver Canucks are +700 to win the Cup, and they play the Oilers in the second round.

The Toronto Maple Leafs lost in seven games to the Boston Bruins, while the Winnipeg Jets lost to the Colorado Avalanche in five games.

When is the last time a Canadian team won the Stanley Cup?

NHL teams from Canada are on a three-decade-plus Stanley Cup drought. The last team from north of the border to win it was the Montreal Canadiens in 1993, who had Patrick Roy in his prime between the pipes.

Before that, the Edmonton Oilers won the Cup five times between the 1983/84 season and the 1989/90 season. Wayne Gretzky led them to the 1984, '85, '87 and '88 Cups before heading to Los Angeles, and Mark Messier captained them to the '90 edition.

In a down year of the Oilers' dynasty, the Habs won the cup in 1986. Roy went from a .875 regular-season save percentage to a .923 save percentage in the playoffs en route to winning the Conn Smythe Trophy.

Canadian teams have won the Stanley Cup a total of 42 times in the 94 occasions that the trophy has been awarded to the National Hockey League champion.

Before 1927, the best teams from the top American league - the National Hockey Association - and Canada's Pacific Coast Hockey Association and later the Western Canada Hockey League would compete for the Cup.

In this period, which began in 1915, Canadian teams won the Cup 10 times in 11 tries. The 1919 edition was cancelled because of the flu epidemic.

The Ottawa Senators won the Cup three times, the Montreal Canadiens won it twice, and the Vancouver Millionaires, Toronto Hockey Club, Toronto St. Patricks, Victoria Cougars and Montreal Maroons each won it once.

The era before that was the Challenge Cup from 1893 to 1914, where teams would challenge the champion to matches for the Cup. The Stanley Cup was exclusive to Canada during this era, and 10 different teams held the Cup at some point.

Odds mentioned in this article were correct at the time of writing and are subject to change.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

in Bonus Bets
BET $10
in Bonus Bets
Join Now
Deposit required (min $10). Paid in Bonus Bets. Bonus Bets wager excluded from returns. New customers only. T&Cs, time limits and exclusions apply. View Full Terms and Conditions.